ASU Football’s Sutton earns Walter Camp preseason recognition

ASU Football’s Sutton earns Walter Camp preseason recognition

© cbs 5 © cbs 5

Arizona State University student-athlete Will Sutton has been named to the 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced Friday.

Sutton, a 2012 consensus All-American, earned Walter Camp Second Team All-American honors this past season. This latest nod, along with the Lombardi, Outland, Nagurski, Maxwell and Bednarik awards, marks his sixth 2013 preseason award watch list.

He posted 63 tackles, including 23.5 for loss and 13 sacks this past season en route to receiving the Pac-12 Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year award and the prestigious Morris Trophy, as well as the Kraft Fight Hunger Bowl Defensive MVP. He finished his junior year ranked second in the nation in 1.92 tackles for loss per game and third nationally with 1.08 sacks per game.

Sutton also served as the official starter for the 9th Annual Pat's Run Kids Run this past April and was named a finalist for the Outstanding Student-Athlete NCAA award.

A total of nine different Sun Devils, including five on offense and four on defense, earned nods on 14 different preseason award watch lists this summer.

2013 Sun Devil Award Watch Lists

Camp Player of the Year – Will Sutton

Walker Award (nation's most outstanding running back) – DJ Foster, Marion Grice

O'Brien Award (nation's most outstanding quarterback) – Taylor Kelly

Butkus Award (nation's most outstanding linebacker) – Carl Bradford, Chris Young

Lombardi (nation's most outstanding down lineman) - Sutton

Thorpe Award (nation's most outstanding defensive back) – Alden Darby

Outland Trophy (nation's most outstanding interior lineman) – Sutton

Nagurski Trophy (national defensive player of the year) – Bradford, Sutton

Mackey Award (nation's most outstanding tight end) – Chris Coyle

Maxwell Award (nation's most outstanding player) – Grice, Kelly, Sutton

Bednarik Award (nation's most outstanding defensive player) – Bradford, Sutton

Hornung Award (nation's most versatile player) - Foster

Rimington Award (nation's top center) – Kody Koebensky  

Lott IMPACT Trophy (positive influence both on and off the field) – Darby

Copyright 2013 CBS 5 (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 RAYCOM. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.